The Rainstorms

It came upon me
like a Buenos Aires rainstorm
sudden
unexpected
unforgiving

I was unprepared
vulnerable
walking alone
no practical shelter
just had to keep walking
slowly, mud walking
like trying to walk underwater
upstream

I forget what they’re like
when it’s been so long,
forget how to manage

Couldn’t remember the last time
of being asleep more than awake
That’s how it goes, though

When awake, I colored,
movies playing in the background
but even my favorites
didn’t seem quite as appealing
I watched them anyway
at least it was another distraction

If nothing else
the rainstorms
are always humbling reminders

~ copyright Kelly Elaine ~

Leave a Reply

