Letters

Dear 11.5-year-old Me,

Always remember, you never know what’s around the bend. There are always worries, there is always drama, there is always settling–IF you allow those things in your life; but always remember that there are better things. Wait for those, making the most of your current circumstances. Change will come. I promise.

Love,
Future You

…………………………………

Dear Future Me,

I’m not sure I totally know what you mean, but okay. I’ll try?

Love,
11.5-year-old You

………………………………

Dear Almost-12-year-old Me,

See? Didn’t I tell you? It’s pretty great, right? Enjoy it. I know you are, and I’m proud of you for that; but I just want to say it anyway.

Love,
Future You

P.S. Just wait until your birthday!

…………………………………

Dear Future Me,

Yes, it’s pretty great. You’re really proud of me? I’m writing everything down, all the wonderful things. I have a list. Is that silly? It seems silly, but I don’t want to forget anything!

Love,
Almost-12-year-old You

…………………………………

Dear 12-year-old Me,

Happy Birthday! Be sure to add your birthday gift to the list! It doesn’t matter if it’s silly; you’ll be glad you made that list, I promise. Even years later when you no longer have that journal or those pages, that list will be etched in your memory, never forgotten. Read it often; and no, that’s not silly! That’s enjoying life!

Love,
Future You

P.S. That birthday gift, however, keep it forever!

……………………………………

Dear Future Me,

Thank you! For everything! I will keep reading and recording!

Love,
12-year-old You

……………………………………

Dear 12.5-year-old Me,

Congrats on wrapping up your 6th grade year! How great was it (rhetorical, obviously—I know how great it was)!!! Do me a couple favors, okay?

– Read over & reflect on that list, okay? Know it well.

– Enjoy that baseball game. Cherish every second, so that you’ll always remember, okay?

Love,
Future You

………………………………………

Dear Future Me,

Wow, what a year, indeed. It was just so wonderful, filled with so many amazing memories! It’s felt like being a princess!

Can’t wait for the game!

Love,
12.5-year-old You

………………………………………

Dear Princess (aka Almost-13-year-old Me),

I’m sorry; I know it stings a little. However, I am so very proud of you for handling this as you have. I wish I still had your remarkable wisdom; I suppose I have had it, I just haven’t always paid due attention to it like you did. Thank you for that.

Remember, you’re still a princess, and this is still worth remembering.

Love,
Future You

………………………………………

Dear Princess (Future Me),

It’s okay. I do know it’s for the best, and I am thankful for the past year. It’s meant a lot, and I hope it always does.

Oh, and remember that YOU, Future Me… are still a princess. That hasn’t changed, just in case you weren’t sure.

Love,
Princess (aka Almost-13-year-old You)

…………………………………………

Dear Princess,

Thank you. Sometimes reminders are helpful.

Oh, and by the way, give it another year. Another unexpected surprise awaits. It will help things to settle a little better. It won’t seem like much to anyone else, but it will mean a lot to you. Be patient.

Love,
Princess

……………………………………………

Dear Princess,

You’re welcome. I know.

I trust you, and I remind you of the same…

Be patient. You never know what’s around the bend!

Love,
Princess

Leave a Reply

